President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Mr. Edward Adamu as the new Chairman of the Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria.

This was contained in a letter sent to the Senate by the President on Tuesday.

The development has therefore brought to an end, the one year tenure of Dr. Muiz Banire who was appointed chairman of the agency in 2018.

Buhari in his letter dated December 9, 2019 and read at plenary by the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, said it was in accordance with Section 10(1) of the Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria Act, 2010.

“While hoping that this request will receive the usual expeditious consideration of the Senate, please accept, Distinguished Senate President, the assurances of my highest consideration,” he added.

Also on Tuesday, Buhari asked the Senate to confirm the appointment of Muhammad Nami from the North Central geopolitical zone, as the Executive Chairman of the Federal Inland Revenue Service.

Buhari, in a letter dated December 9, also sought the approval of the red chamber for the appointments of 13 others as members of the FIRS board.

They are, James Ayuba (North Central); Ado Danjuma (North West); Adam Mohammed (North East); Ikeme Osakwe (South East); Adewale Ogunyomade (South West); Ehile Aibangbee (South South);

Other members of the board appointed from the ministries agencies and departments of federal government are, Ladidi Mohammed (Attorney General of the Federation Office) and Godwin Emefiele (Central Bank of Nigeria).

They also include, Fatima Hayatu (Ministry of Finance); Maagbe Adaa (Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission); and Umar Ajiya (Nigerian National Petroleum Commission).

The rest are, DCG T. M. Isah (Nigeria Customs Service) and the Registrar General of the Corporate Affairs Commission.

Buhari in the letter, read at plenary by the President of the Senate, urged the senators to accord the communication an expeditious consideration.